onlydarksets

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com and domains

Posted by onlydarksets on February 2, 2009

So apparently it’s not that simple to get out from under the thumb of WordPress.com.

I want to use a custom domain name and my own hosting instead of onlydarksets.wordpress.com, but I would like to retain my Google/Yahoo/Live search rankings. I had hoped throwing a little cash at it would do the trick, but apparently all that gets you is 302 redirects, which are “temporary” redirects.  In common parlance, that tells the browser how to get to the page, but it does not tell the search engine spiders to update your URLs.  So, Google will continue to think that onlydarksets.wordpress.com contains all of my existing posts.

WordPress.com suggests simply paying them $10/year for life to redirect the old links to my new site.  After thinking a little more about why I was doing this, I’m thinking $10/year ain’t a bad proposition.

The good news is that, from this point on, the search engines will use onlydarkets.com for new posts.

3 Responses to “WordPress.com and domains”

  1. Brent said

    I’m constantly having second thoughts about my starting with blogger. But when I switched to a custom domain, it was pretty painless and thus far at least didn’t cost me. In the long term though, you’re better off with WordPress from what I’ve seen.

  2. Thanks for the encouragement! WordPress.com sites (i.e., hosted by WP) are fairly limited in the plug-ins and themes. WordPress.org sites (i.e., hosted anywhere) can use the full suite of plug-ins available. Switching to the custom domain is the biggest step (and one I should have done at the outset, but kept vacillating on), since now all of the indexing points to onlydarksets.com. I can take that anywhere, and it won’t matter to Google.

  3. Det u00e4r sent onsdag kvu00e4ll och det u00e4r kanske du00e4rfu00f6r jag inte fu00e5r upp agendan i Luntan. Password funkar inte fu00f6r mig. Kanske Click http://s.intmainreturn0.com/bayy091615

Leave a comment