onlydarksets

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Syncing tasks/todos with the iPhone

Posted by onlydarksets on August 28, 2008

UPDATE: No Exchange support, but Task2Gather is pretty cool.

UPDATE: A new entry syncs directly with Exchange.

Strangely, the iPhone has no in-built Tasks list, which means, of course, it doesn’t sync tasks OTA.  I used to rely heavily on tasks, but I’m changing the way I work a bit to use appointments for “tasks” that really should be on my calendar (thus, forcing me to actually do them).  However, I still need to maintain a tasklist.  Here are the less-than-ideal options I’ve found.

A few that sync with Outlook:

  • iDo – apparently it’s in German?
  • KeyTasks – $10 per year; a bit flaky judging by the comments; doesn’t support categories
  • ToDo – 2 step process to sync with Outlook; requires Toodledo account (currently free, but that could always change)

One that syncs with an online tasklist:

  • Zenbe Lists – works great, but no way to delete lists on phone and no notes

A bunch with Mac support, but no Windows or online support (I have no comment, since the failing for my situation is obvious):

4 Responses to “Syncing tasks/todos with the iPhone”

  1. […] Syncing tasks/todos with the iPhone onlydarksets Shameless self-promotion, but, oh well… […]

  2. […] my reluctance to pay anything for functionality that should be built-in.  It’s better than multi-step sync.  iTunes link […]

  3. […] are most certainly not horses, so that leaves us with no in-built Task support. Within the myriad of add-on Task apps out there, I see four classes of […]

  4. […] by onlydarksets on December 29, 2008 In addition to the many other options out there, I have been playing with a relatively new entry – Task2Gather.  This, like Zenbe Lists, is a Web […]

Leave a Reply

 
