onlydarksets

Just another WordPress.com weblog

iPhone 2.0.1 update destroyed my inbox

Posted by onlydarksets on August 5, 2008

So, 2.0.1 is outContact loading is zippier and SMS load faster.

And it cooked my Exchange inbox.

I kept getting a “Cannot connect to mail server” error.  This was strange, though, because Calendar and Contacts synced fine.  I tried disabling and enabling the Mail account, but no dice.

Finally, I fixed it by doing the following:

In Outlook:

  1. Create a new folder called “Inbox2”
  2. Move all of the messages from “Inbox” to “Inbox2”
  3. Sync Outlook,

On the iPhone:

  1. Open the Inbox folder (and let it sync)
  2. Open the Inbox2 folder (and let it sync)

In Outlook:

  1. Move all of the messages back to “Inbox”

On the iPhone:

  1. Open the Inbox folder (and let it sync)

I have had something similar happen on WM before, and it turned out to be a bad message in my inbox on Exchange.  However, I don’t think that was the case here, because the iPhone had every message that was showing in Outlook.  Anyway, problem solved worked around.

Leave a Reply

 
