onlydarksets

Just another WordPress.com weblog

SageTV beta and HDHomeRun

Posted by onlydarksets on July 30, 2008

Update: Turns out it really was my fault.  Still working on getting the tuner to lock on when viewing TV, but at least the channels are getting picked up!

Update #2: A few reboots fixed the problem.  Go figure.

It’s my own fault – I wanted to test the latest SageTV beta, but I didn’t bother searching to see if there was a problem using it with clear QAM on the HDHomeRun.

Sage is adding native support for the HDHR, so there are alternative installation steps that you need to follow. I’m still trying to get it working (even shut down the firewall), but so far, no dice.  Everything works fine in the HDHR/VLC software, but Sage just refuses to find the channels.

I guess I was due – VMC had been running smoothly for so long, I really needed a project!

6 Responses to “SageTV beta and HDHomeRun”

  1. Brent said

    There’s some tips and help in this SageTV thread. I’d start with the most recent posts and work my way back as the process has changed since it’s in beta and their trying to improve the setup
    http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=34196
    I got mine to work fairly easily using the updated instructions, but I’m using XP not Vista so that may have made a difference.

  2. Brent said

    I just noticed that Opus (Andy) has updated the first post in that thread so it should have the best instructions to follow. And Opus is the goto guy to help you get it going as well. Hope you get it worked out soon.

  3. Thanks! I came across that link as well, and Opus has been very helpful. I’m hoping to get it all working by this weekend.

  4. It’s all working now!

  5. Brent said

    Glad to hear you got it working!

  6. Syed Shani said

    A very Nice Website Ive seen Uptill. Excellent post. Keep it up! Good day!

Leave a Reply

 
