onlydarksets

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Battery survival mode for the iPhone

Posted by onlydarksets on July 24, 2008

UPDATE: Just found this.  There really is nothing new under the sun.

I got home yesterday evening and realized I had left my charger at work (I have a couple more on order, but they haven’t arrived yet, so I only have the one from the box).  I had charged all day and on the drive home, so I was pretty much full up after about an hour’s worth of use.

To extend the battery life, I shut down the following:

  • 3G
  • Bluetooth
  • Location Services
  • Wifi searching

I used the Wifi a bit that night, but I had about 75% remaining when I went to bed.  8 hours later, I still had probably 65% battery life – I was shocked!  I turned everything but the Wifi searching back on once I plugged it back into  the car charger.  Good to know I can squeeze a full day+ out of this if necessary!

5 Responses to “Battery survival mode for the iPhone”

  1. andy vt said

    What was the battery life like on your previous device?

  2. On the Q, I would have been close to empty by the morning, unless I went into flight mode. 3G sucked it dry. The i760 was a little better, but I never used the Wifi, because I could literally see the battery draining.

    I’ve heard that WM 6.1 increased performance and battery life, but I didn’t really test it out before I sold my i760.

    Now, on the 4 2.5G WM Smartphones I had prior to the Q (MPx-220, SMT5600, 2125, 3125), the battery life was comparable to the 2G iPhone (i.e., it would last a couple of days of normal use). Of course, those didn’t have Wifi.

    How is the Tilt with battery life?

  3. andy vt said

    It really depends on what I’m doing. Tethered via BT, the battery goes pretty quick (I have the HSDPA hack enabled so this adds to the problem). Normal usage (BT and WI-FI turned off & 3G enabled w/ HSDPA enabled) usually gets me a 2-3 days of battery life. Turning off 3G, or roaming into a non-3G area I can get 4-6 days.

  4. Wow – that’s much better than I’ve ever gotten.

  5. andy vt said

    It’s primarily a email/pmp device; I hardly ever talk on the phone.

Leave a Reply

 
