onlydarksets

Just another WordPress.com weblog

iPhone activation relies on Windows Mobile

Posted by onlydarksets on July 20, 2008

Imagine my surprise yesterday, when the Apple employee who was hooking up my iPhone pulled out a handheld device running Windows Mobile!  There was a full-screen application (looked like something in Java), but I saw the distinctive WM keyboard select icon (in the system tray area) and the craptacular WM QWERTY keyboard (funny nonsequitor – I actually had to think for a second how to spell QWERTY):

I am pretty sure the device was the Symbol MC70 (or a predecessor to it):

I’m surprised I couldn’t find anything on this on the interwebs.  I’d have guessed this would be a hot-topic.
Still not “hot”, but it’s out there. Thanks, Pony99CA.

4 Responses to “iPhone activation relies on Windows Mobile”

  1. Pony99CA said

    You couldn’t find mention of this on the Web? You didn’t look hard enough. 😀 And they’ve apparently been doing it for years!

  2. Of course I saw those. I meant the other “interwebs”.

    Thanks for the heads up – I’m still recovering from lack of sleep!

  3. Pony99CA said

    No worries. If you were only looking at iPhone sites, I don’t expect they’d have featured this story. 😀

  4. I used Google. J/K’s article isn’t seeding well there, unless you include “point-of-sale” (which I did not). Not sure why, since 90% of the other posts about it are simply references to his post.

Leave a Reply

 
