onlydarksets

Just another WordPress.com weblog

MP4 tagging

Posted by onlydarksets on July 6, 2008

I currently have babgvant’s excellent DVRMSToolbox setup to automatically find commercials, strip them out, use Expression Encoder to convert to WMV, and then tag the files appropriately (Title, Subtitle, Type, etc.).  I have a profile setup for HD and for SD sources, and everything works pretty much perfectly.

Anticipating the iPhone, though, I need to find a way to do all of this with MP4 instead of WMV.  I have a command-line for VLC, so I’m good there (DTb will convert to MPEG2, so lack of DVR-MS support is not an issue).  However, DTb does not support tagging MP4 files.

AtomicParsley appears to fit the bill.  I’ll still have to cobble something together, though.

4 Responses to “MP4 tagging”

  1. andy vt said

    If you find a library (c style or .net) I can wrap it in an action.

  2. The only thing I found was TV Tagger.

    It’s a Java library, though. I don’t think it will be bad doing this via the RunExternal action, but I haven’t even begun to look into it yet. My list keeps getting longer and longer.

  3. […] I’m pretty set on using DTb for file monitoring and processing control.  For transcoding, I was going to use VLC (or possibly Handbrake), but I might look at ffmpeg instead.  Also, Sage includes a transcoder, […]

  4. […] https://onlydarksets.wordpress.com/2008/07/06/mp4-tagging/ […]

Leave a Reply

 
