onlydarksets

Just another WordPress.com weblog

ScanPST.exe location

Posted by onlydarksets on March 20, 2008

I just upgraded to Vista Enterprise SP1, and I found that my backup PST was corrupted.  Outlook told me to run ScanPST.exe, but didn’t bother telling me where it was.  According to the KB article, it’s located in the Common Files directory.  However, with Microsoft Office 2007 Enterprise, I found it here:

C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office12

Obviously this isn’t an insurmountable obstacle, but hopefully this will help.

UPDATE: One commentor found it in yet another location. C:\Program Files\Common Files\System\MSMAPI\1033

UPDATE #2: For x64, substitute “Program Files (x86)” for “Program Files” in the above paths.  Thanks, Travis!

20 Responses to “ScanPST.exe location”

  1. JM said

    Thanks!

  2. Thanks!!! That helped!!! and it worked!

  3. Karl said

    Wow! This certainly helped and worked. I had spent a while on this and had gotten no results. Thank you!

  4. David said

    Thanks for taking the trouble to mail this. I couldn’t find it and as you know the internet is full of pointers to other locations!

  5. Hafid said

    thx man.. you really help me this time🙂

  6. Robert Salazar said

    Thank you for posting this info. I was trying to find the file and had no luck until I looked here. You saved me hours.

  7. Bob Smiley said

    Thanks so much for this. I did a “SEARCH” on my computer and after hours of searching, it still hadn’t completed. I had also looked in that other folder because I found other sites referring to it. Thanks so much.

  8. Bob Smiley said

    Something I just noticed… the last 4 posts (including mine) are from just the past few days… all within this month (8/2008). I wonder if this is indicative that one of the auto-updates is causing an issue that we are suffering from.

  9. I was about to comment on the influx of, well, comments! I haven’t had any problems, but I only use PSTs for archives (Exchange for the current stuff), so you could be onto something. That said, I haven’t noticed any Office updates lately – have you?

  10. Rajib Das said

    Thanks for your help – god knows why vista seach could not find it.

  11. Neilow said

    Thanks for the info !

  12. Jagadeesh said

    Surprisingly on my machine I could not locate it at the above location, but at : “C:\Program Files\Common Files\System\MSMAPI\1033” . Also, I could not locate the file when I searched with default options, but came up in the search only after I used “More advanced options..” and checked “Search system folders” and “Search hidden files and folders”.

  13. raja said

    Thanks…..without your information I could not find it so easily.

  14. Arjun said

    Your post helped me out. I called Microsoft – and they wanted to charge me $49 to find the location, just because their search function was so messed up..

  15. Nelson said

    Excellent help – I was on the phone with MS support for twenty minutes and they couldn’t find it nor fix my file….

  16. Raghu said

    Hey Jagadeesh,

    Thanks for posting your location as well. It really reduced pain of searching my machine.

    Thanks,
    Raghu

  17. Travis said

    For 64 bit vista it will be in one of the directories listed above except you have to use Program Files (x86) instead of Program Files.

  18. Hakan atil said

    Thank you. It worked perfectly.

  19. SelArom said

    “Outlook told me to run ScanPST.exe, but didn’t bother telling me where it was”

    ain’t that a bitch?! damn microsoft! what good is telling me what to do if you don’t tell me how to do it!!

    thanks for posting this!!

  20. muzibul hasan said

    thanks For Help

Leave a Reply

 
