onlydarksets

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Video on the Zune – DVRMSToolbox

Posted by onlydarksets on January 9, 2008

Maybe it’s because I’m already running DTb, but this was easy as pie. I installed it on my laptop, opened up DTbGUI, set the input and output files, and then selected the “Cut out commercials, convert to WMV” profile. It took about 10 minutes, and spit out a 1700Kbps WMV3 file of a 30 minute show with the commercials removed.

That said, the 21 minute video (at 720×480) was a 280MB file, which is far too large for SD.

I lowered the video bitrate to 800Kbps (by using a text editor to modify the PRX file in the C:\Program Files\DVRMSToolbox\prx directory), and the resulting WMV file was about 165MB. To change the bitrate, make a copy of cbrNTSC.prx and open the new file (I called mine cbrZune). You need to update the “Video Stream” <streamconfig> tag, and the <videoinfoheader> tags with the new bitrates:

<streamconfig majortype=”{73646976-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}”
streamnumber=”2″
streamname=”Video Stream”
inputname=”Video409″
bitrate=”900000″
bufferwindow=”5000″
reliabletransport=”0″
decodercomplexity=”AU”
rfc1766langid=”en-us”
>

<videoinfoheader dwbitrate=”900000″
dwbiterrorrate=”0″
avgtimeperframe=”333667″>

The resolution was 720×480, but it should be 640×480 to get the right aspect ratio. So, I modified the <rctarget> and <bitmapinfoheader> tags to reflect the correct aspect ratio.

I also tried to lower the audio from 160Kbps to 96Kbps, and it reduced the size to 155MB, but the audio was completely hosed (skipping in and out). I’ll have to look into that, but it’s 10MB, so I’m not horribly worried about it.

If you are interested, you can download the PRX here.

So, that’s great – I’m not even going to bother looking at the other solutions, because DTb works great for SD, it’s already installed, and I’m familiar with it. If it breaks down in the future, then I’ll consider it, but, knowing the developer behind it, I have faith it will keep chugging along (at least, until he defects to Apple ;)).

However, this solution doesn’t work for HD (ATSC) sources. More on that later.

One Response to “Video on the Zune – DVRMSToolbox”

  1. […] Best resolution for playback on Zune and VMC? My video source is NTSC via DVR-MS.  I am converting using DVRMSToolbox, natch, (which uses DVR2WMV), and a custom PRX (found here). […]

Leave a Reply

 
